• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Full Score of Jonathan Harvey's Tranquil Abiding (1998) for Chamber Orchestra.
Published by Faber Music.

'Tranquil Abiding is a Buddhist term for a state of single-pointed concentration. This piece is a 14-minute movement based throughout on a single, slow breathing rhythm. The rhythm consists of an “inhalation” on an upper note followed by an “exhalation” on a lower one. There are melodic fragments above it: one using only one pitch, another three pitches, another five pitches, another eight pitches and a fifth fifteen pitches. It is scored for small orchestra and was commissioned jointly by Riverside Symphony and Bournemouth Orchestras as the result, respectively, of a Koussevitsky award and funds provided by the Arts Council of England.'

~ Jonathan Harvey

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications