• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

The Hebrew Melodies were composed in 1854. They were subtitled "From Impressions of Byron's Poems". There are three movements. The work is mostly dark in color and beautifully exploits the viola's ability to express sadness and lamentation. The first two movements, Sostenuto and Grave, are in the minor and filled with melancholy and pathos. The third movement, Andante cantabile, is mostly pastoral in character although the middle section is quicker and more dramatic.

You may be interested in

Also By This Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications