• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Janácek is one of the most important opera composers of the first half of the 20th century. It is therefore revealing to also study his unrealized projects for stage works. The volume contains an orchestral sketch for incidental music to G. Hauptmann's comedy “Schluck und Jau” (1928) as well as sketches for two larger opera torsos: “The Mintmaster’s Wife” (1906/1907) after Ladislav Stroupežnický is a sketch in the form of a piano reduction including some notes on instrumentation; “The Living Corpse” (1916) after a text by L. N. Tolstoi is a fragment of the orchestral score.

This volume, whose contents have been taken from the original 2010 Editio Janácek edition due to a license transfer, is supplemented by facsimiles of small fragments of works Janacek had planned: “Anna Karenina” and “Gazdina roba” (1907). These fragments demonstrate Janácek's unique approach to dramatic material.

- Complete critical edition of Leoš Janácek's works A/11

- Fragments of stage works in different stages of development

- Scholarly-critical edition of the fragments’ musical text based on the editorial guidelines of the “Complete Critical Edition of the Works of Leoš Janácek”

- With a tri-lingual Foreword (Czech/Eng/Ger) and Critical Commentary (Eng)

- With facsimiles of numerous samples or whole fragments

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications