• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Kapustin composed his sixth Piano Sonata, op. 62, in 1991, and it is the shortest of the thirteen he has written to date. In the three-movement work, the composer expressed the great joy of human existence through a prism of nostalgia. The lively tempi and sparkling passagework of the youthful first movement usher in a particularly beautiful and nostalgic Grave; the energetic and exuberant finale, with its excursions into boogie-woogie and stride, is full of twists, turns and all other kinds of surprises.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications