• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Premiered in Jan 2009 by Marat Bisengaliev, Sarikiz is a highly approachable violin concerto in three movements, with a flexible scoring for strings and optional wind and percussion. The violin writing, reminiscent of Vivaldi, is florid in the fast outer movements and enchantingly lyrical in the central slow movement.

The work was commissioned by Sapar Iskakov in memory of his great Kazakh ancestor, composer and kobyz player Tlep Aspantaiuly (1757-1820) and is based in part on Kazakh folk melodies. It has been recorded on the album Quirk (EMI Classics), which brings together four concertos by the composer of Adiemus.

The Piano reduction is by Stephen Gibson.

Composer’s Note:

Sarikiz, based in part on Kazakh folk melodies, is scored for solo violin and strings with optional single woodwind, timpani and percussion. The two percussion instruments in the score are Kazakh in origin: the dabyl is a hand drum while the kepshek is a small frame drum with jingles. Any suitable hand drum may be substituted for the former while the kepshek part may be played on a tambourine.
Karl Jenkins

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications