• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Leonidas Kavakos (violin), Anne Sofie von Otter (mezzo-soprano), Bengt Forsberg (piano), Kjell Lysell (violin), Ulf Forsberg (violin), Nils-Erik Sparf (viola), Mats Lindström (cello), Quirine Viersen (cello), Alexander Frey (piano)

Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, Hugh Wolff

"For years, Korngold was dismissed as a Viennese Wunderkind who had sold his soul for a mess of Hollywood potage. Recent interest in film music has brought about a reevaluation of Korngold's complete output - and the discovery that we have been missing an awful lot by being sniffy about the Hollywood connection. His opera Die Tote Stadt, written when he was only 19, is now available on DVD and features, naturally enough, in Barrie Gavin's beautifully shot, finally crafted documentary portrait. [...] there are two extended arias, plus examples from many other works, some of which, like the cello concerto, are played in their entirety afterwards. Anne Sofie von Otter's rendition of 'Marietta's Lied' from Die Tote Stadt is spine-tingling and reason enough to get a DVD which ought to be in every music lover's collection." Richard Fawkes, Opera Now, 05-06/2004

You may be interested in

Also By This Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications