• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Confluences is a three-movement work for clarinet, violin, violoncello and piano which was composed for the New York Continuum Ensemble in 2001. In the short first movement, a two-note motif wanders through the strings while the piano plays delicate figures in the descant. The second movement, Grazioso, is the most elaborate among the three, beginning with a fast arch-shaped theme played by the clarinet. From this theme emerge oscillating arpeggios which repeatedly dissolve into turning motifs. The final movement, entitled 'peaceful, floating', contains a transparent dialogue between all members of the ensemble. Confluences was premiered at the Knitting Factory in New York City in 2001.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications