• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

This composition for solo violin was written in 1987 for the violinist Roger Zahab who performed the world premiere in New York. As is typical of Ursula Mamlok, the work of about 5 minutes' duration is very short. In one movement, divided into five short sections, she sums up her musical cause in an extremely virtuoso manner: A powerful opening theme, which varies several times, is followed by a quiet, lyrical passage which uses similar musical ideas, however. In the following, the formal contrast disappears due to the increasing fusion of opening theme and slower episode before the main theme is taken up again in the final section in a very dramatic form.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications