• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Giorgio Koukl (piano)

Although they number approximately eighty out of a total of over four hundred works, Martinu’s compositions for solo piano have long been overshadowed by his orchestral and chamber music.

This first release in the Naxos complete Martinu piano music edition features works written mainly during the composer’s residence in Paris between 1920 and 1938, then the focal point for many experimental trends in music.

Martinu’s desire to expand his developing compositional style can be heard on this disc in works as diverse as Three Sketches, influenced by American popular dance and jazz idioms, the impressionistic Fenêtre sur le jardin and Dance Sketches, a series of strikingly individual pieces whose rhythms recall Dvorák, Stravinsky, and Martinu’s mentor, Roussel.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications