• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Maggini Quartet
Laurence Jackson (violin 1) 1 ,Lorraine McAslan (violin 1) 2 , David Angel (violin 2), Martin Outram (viola), Michal Kaznowski (cello)

Peter Maxwell Davies is universally acknowledged as one of the foremost composers of our time, and is currently Master of the Queen’s Music. His musical idiom has been described by The New York Times as a combination of ‘medieval mysticism, modernist rigour and happy accessibility’.

This is the third release in a series of ten quartets commissioned by Naxos. Naxos Quartet No5 ws inspired by the dramatic sweeping beams of Orcadian Lighthouses, while the composer himself describes Naxos Quartet No6 as "an ambitious work of six movements - a counter- balance in the cycle of ten quartets to the relatively slight fourth & fifth". Played by the Maggini Quartet.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications