• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Wilhelm Middelschulte (1863–1943) studied church music in Berlin . From 1891 onwards he worked as director of the organ department at the American Conservatory in Chicago and the Wisconsin Conservatory in Milwaukee . As a virtuoso organist he had a formative impact in the USA .

No lesser authority than Ferruccio Busoni described Middelschulte as a “master of counterpoint” and declared him to be the greatest contrapuntalist since Johann Sebastian Bach.

Volume IV contains two works which belong to the group of larger-scale compositions completed by the composer himself. The Contrapuntal Symphony was the last work to be published during the composer’s lifetime. The manuscript of the Chaconne was considered to be lost until recently and it is now being published here for the first time.

The Complete Organ Works will comprise a total of seven volumes.

- First Urtext edition of Middelschulte’s Complete Organ Works
- First publication of the Chaconne
- Each volume contains a detailed foreword and critical commentary (Ger/Eng)

Published by Baerenreiter.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications