• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

New edition of this enigmatic, single-movement work for full orchestra lasting 13 minutes and dating from the early-1930s. In his preface, Gerard McBurney comments that, “Despite the music’s modernist surface, the Chant symphonique’s ‘three closely integrated movements’ correspond rather neatly to a traditional sonata-form exposition, development and recapitulation. There is even an overall tonality of sorts – D major. But ‘parts’, ‘moods’, keys and cadences are all subjected in this unusual work to tremendous pressure and distortion, so that we quickly begin to suspect that something other, different and more mysterious, is really going on here.”

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications