• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Dardanus is Rameau’s third “Tragédie lyrique” composed for Paris after “Hippolyte et Aricie” and “Castor et Pollux”. With its multi-facetted music it represents quite a high point of this genre. Its performance history is remarkable in that within only five years two clearly different versions were being performed.

The new critical edition by Denis Herlin for the first time offers the possibility to reconstruct the version of May 1744 in addition to the version of 1739. Also, the Appendices include the complete performance material of the version of April 1744, many parts of which could not be heard since. Last but not least the changes of the successful re-staging of 1760 are presented.

- A milestone in the genre of “Tragédie lyrique” now made accessible

- Edited in accordance with the high editorial standards of “Opera Omnia Rameau” (OOR)

- Vocal Score (BA08868-90) available for sale

- Performance material available for hire (BA08868-72)

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications