• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Deutsche Grammophon proudly presents the most authoritative Schubert project ever made, featuring all the masterpieces in timeless recordings – plus many rare gems that manifest Schubert’s genius.

This first edition comprehensively covers Schubert’s vast orchestral, chamber and piano output, containing all the masterworks in definitive recordings by legendary artists: Abbado (symphonies), Kempff (piano sonatas), Melos Quartett (string quartets & string quintet – the latter with Rostropovich), Pires (piano works), Gidon Kremer (violin works) Beaux Arts Trio (trios). Individual recordings of famous works include the “Trout” Quintet with the Amadeus Quartet and Emil Gilels, and string trios with the Grumiaux Trio.

The rarities collected here include well-received completions of Symphonies nos. 7, 8 & 10 by British musicologist Brian Newbould, played by the Academy of St. Martins in the Field under Neville Marriner, a set of early overtures played by the Haydn Sinfonietta Wien, as well as many little-known piano solo and duet pieces (with Jörg Demus and Paul Badura-Skoda) – one of the many delights of the set.

A bonus disc compares three legendary recordings of the “Unfinished” Symphony, conducted by Carlos Kleiber, Wilhelm Furtwängler and Leopold Stokowski.
Two of the recordings featured have never been released before (Marches militaires D 733 Nos. 2 & 3 by Paul Badura-Skoda & Jörg Demus).

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications