• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Robert Schumann wrote his Fantasy Pieces for clarinet and piano in the course of two days in February 1849. Only a few days later they were premiered by Clara Schumann and the Dresden clarinettist Johann Gottlieb Kotte. Initially choosing the title Soirée Pieces for his works, Schumann finally decided to have them published as Fantasy Pieces, thereby emphasizing their poetical aspects.

These connotations are also at the centre of clarinettist Elisabeth Eichenberg's notes on interpretation with special reference to the contemporary aesthetics of the clarinet sound. The edition is based on the first edition published in 1849 and also incorporates subsequent corrections in Schumann's personal copy. The compositional manuscript that has survived served as an important corrective. Besides the original clarinet part in A the edition also includes a transposed part for the B clarinet in order to make these standard works of the Romantic clarinet repertoire available to a wider circle of the clarinet community.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications