• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

__Master Level
__Shelley Hanson originally composed Islas y Montañas for orchestra. "Tocata" is the first movement and functions as a fanfare or introduction. It features the entire ensemble clapping rhythmic patterns based on the Cuban 3/2-clave rhythm. It's a great way to get the crowd ready for "La Tumba de Alejandro Garcia Caturla," originally the fourth movement from Islas y Montañas. It is beautifully transcribed here for concert band. It is a musical rumination about Cuban composer Alejandro Garcia Caturla (1906-1940) who studied with Nadia Boulanger but was later assassinated while presiding as a judge. It opens with a haunting English horn cadenza (alternate cueing provided) followed by harmonic shifts, intense soli writing and driving rhythms that sweep through the ensemble.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications