• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Set of parts for Shostakovich's String Quartet No.8 from Opus 110. This piece was written for and dedicated to the 'victims of Fascism' following a trip to Dresden. There are many recognisable themes in the piece including the Cello Concerto No. 1 and a little known tune from his opera Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk. This melody had itself been suppressed by official Soviet condemnation, many critics believe that in this piece Shostakovich is also portraying himself as a victim of Facism and tyranny.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications