• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

The core repertoire of low string instruments would not be the same without Johann Sebastian Bach’s three gamba sonatas, which hark back to other works by him that were originally scored for different performing forces. They all share a strict three-part texture (gamba and two-voice keyboard). Today the sonatas are mostly played on the cello, which can assimilate the gamba’s original music unchanged.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications