• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Barchester Towers, the sequel to The Warden and the second novel in the Chronicles of Barsetshire, sees Trollope hit his stride.

It focuses on the power struggle between Archdeacon Grantly, Mr Slope and the Proudies as they fight for control of the
diocese of Barchester. Meanwhile, another struggle is taking place for the heart of Eleanor Bold. Who will win her? The vile Mr Slope, the idling Bertie Stanhope or someone else entirely?

This is a witty and sparkling novel about greed, hate and love; Trollope captures the intricacy of human emotion and character
with warmth, humour, wonderful characterisation and, of course, perfect dialogue.

• After its hugely successful Dickens recordings, Naxos AudioBooks has turned its attention to Anthony Trollope.

• This is the second instalment of Trollope's Barchester Towers series; the first novel, The Warden was released in April 2013, with Doctor Thorne following in August 2014.

• David Shaw-Parker’s reading perfectly captures the genial but acute voice of Anthony Trollope.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications