• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Available together for the first time are three piano trios from Mark-Anthony Turnage: "A Slow Pavane" (2005), "A Fast Stomp" (2005) and "A Short Procession" (2004)."A Slow Pavane" takes something of the solemn and melancholic nature of the Renaissance dance, but with changing meters and syncopation rather than the strict measures of the traditional style."A Fast Stomp" is an energetic and unrelenting Scherzo and Trio. It began life as a study for Turnage’s orchestral piece "Scherzoid" and is almost a scaled down, compacted overview of that work. "A Short Procession" was written in memorial for two friends of the composer. A generally slow and quiet work contrasted by a more animated and passionate middle section, the piece closes with a short quote from the Irish folksong "Women of Ireland".

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications