• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

This piece is governed by a principle similar to the one which obtains in the Etude sur le Carré magique sonore (BEL 174). 8 interval cycles follow one another in close proximity and form a kind of moving octagon which is first erected and then dismantled. The cycle of diminished fifths comes to a conclusion only after it has traversed 13 octaves, that is, beyond the confines of what is actually audible. The circling motion is most apparent at the beginning and at the end, where the wheel gradually grinds to a halt. In between there are passages with dense tone clusters and chordal trills.” (Gottfried Eberle)

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications