• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

In 1847, Offenbach wrote a largescale concerto of no less than 45 minutes’ duration for ‘his’ instrument, the violoncello. It combines the classical symphonic structure with the liveliness and elegant orchestration for which the master of the ‘opéra-bouffe’ is well known. The work got its epithet from the forceful third movement with its regular flashes of fanfarelike sounds which is totally different from the slow middle movement where the melodist Offenbach gives the solo instrument the opportunity of playing to the full. In its reconstructed complete form, the ‘Grand Concerto’ was performed in Paris in April 2004 for the first time. The present edition for violoncello and piano is suited for both studying the original work and giving concert performances.

There are currently no reviews for this product.

Tell us what you think
Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications