• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

HK Gruber is the composer of the celebrated 'pandemonium' Frankenstein!!, which has received hundreds of performances and broadcasts worldwide * Music refracts Viennese tradition, both classical and popular, through contemporary lens * His works draw on the cabaret style of the Weimar Republic, often combined with irreverent black humour * Much admired for concertos including two violin concertos for Ernst Kovacic, a Cello Concerto for Yo-Yo Ma and a trumpet concerto Aerial for Håkan Hardenberger * Has appeared at many international festivals as featured composer, conductor, chansonnier, and music-theatre performer, including 2006 Lucerne Festival * Recordings on the BIS, Chandos and Largo labels

Works by HK Gruber include:
Frankenstein!! (1977/79) for chansonnier and orchestra or ensemble
Cello Concerto (1989) for cello and ensemble (or small orchestra)
Aerial (1998-99) Concerto for trumpet and orchestra

Looking Ahead: first South Korean performance of Frankenstein!! in Seoul (22 Aug)

Video: View an interview with HK Gruber talking about his life and music.

"...the nostalgic frisson and the ironic surprise are technical means used by Gruber with absolute authority to create forthright masterpieces." — Sunday Times

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications