• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Aldeburgh Trilogy consists of the separate works Bubo bubo (2002), Counter Phrases (2002–03) and Red House (2013).
Bubo bubo was composed as a tribute to Oliver Knussen on his 50th birthday and is based on two quotes from his works. As Knussen is known to have had a special passion for owls, and his house was filled with statues and images of these birds, Lindberg chose to name his piece after the biggest owl there is – Bubo bubo, the Eurasian (or European) eagle-owl.
Counter Phrases was composed as a ballet for Ictus Ensemble, Rosas Dance Company and Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker (choreographer).
Red House was commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Society and the Britten–Pears Foundation to celebrate the centenary of Britten’s birth and the bicentenary of the Society. The Red House at Aldeburgh was Britten’s home; the name of the piece was chosen to honour Britten and the memorable times Lindberg and colleagues spent at this landmark when leading BPF masterclasses.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications