• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Steve Reich was recently called "…the most original musical thinker of our time" (New Yorker) and "…among the great composers of the century" (New York Times) * His instantly recognizable musical language combines rigorous structures with propulsive rhythms and seductive instrumental colour * Many choreographers have used his scores, including Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Jiri Kylian and Jerome Robbins * Exclusive recording contract with Nonesuch, on which label Different Trains earned him one Grammy™ for Best Contemporary Composition and Music for 18 Musicians a second * His "documentary video opera" works The Cave and Three Tales (in collaboration with video artist Beryl Korot) have expanded the boundaries of the operatic medium.

Works by Steve Reich include:
Music for Eighteen Musicians (1974–76) for voices and ensemble
City Life (1995) for ensemble
Triple Quartet (1998) for string quartet with pre-recorded tape, or string ensemble, or string orchestra
Double Sextet (2007) for ensemble

Looking Ahead: Reich’s new orchestral work, Music for Ensemble and Orchestra, premieres in the Czech Republic with the Czech Philharmonic and conductor David Robertson (Feb 6); in Belgium with the Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège and conductor Kristjan Järvi (Feb 29); and in Norway with the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Olari Elts (May 14).

Reich/Richter, composed for a new film by painter Gerhard Richter, receives regional premieres in France with Ensemble Intercontemporain and Elim Chan (Mar 7); in Estonia with the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra and conductor Olari Elts (Apr 17); and in Norway with the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra and Olari Elts (May 14).

"There's just a handful of living composers who can legitimately claim to have altered the direction of musical history and Steve Reich is one of them." — The Guardian

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications