• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

• London-born, New York-based composer influenced by a range of creative artforms, including dance, painting, film, and poetry
• Frequent collaborator with cutting-edge choreographers, filmmakers, and visual artists
• Named 8th most performed contemporary composer in the world and the most performed living female British composer in 2022 (Bachtrack’s “Classical Music in 2022” study)
• Winner of the 2016 Hindemith Prize
• GRAMMY Nomination for "Best Contemporary Classical Composition" in 2015 for Prince of Clouds
• Currently Associate Composer for the Helsinki Philharmonic; previous residencies with Chicago Symphony Orchestra, L’Orchestre national d’Île-de-France, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonia, and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

Works by Anna Clyne include:
Within Her Arms (2008–09) for string ensemble
Masquerade (2013) for orchestra
This Midnight Hour (2015) for orchestra
DANCE (2019) for cello and orchestra

For more information and sound samples, please visit www.annaclyne.com.

Looking Ahead: On August 13, Clyne’s Wild Geese receives its world premiere at the Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music, led by Cristian Macelaru.

In 2023-2024, Clyne serves as Composer-in-Residence with the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, who gives the world premiere of her new violin concerto Time and Tides with soloist Pekka Kuusisto, led by Jukka-Pekka Saraste (Sep 8).

Saxophonist Jess Gillam unveils Clyne’s Glasslands in the UK with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra and Mark Wigglesworth (Oct 5), before traveling for the Spanish premiere with Orquesta Sinfonica de Castilla y León, where Clyne also serves as artist-in-residence this season (Nov 2-3).

Quarter Days, Clyne’s new concerto for string quartet and orchestra, receives its world premiere with the Euclid Quartet and South Bend Symphony Orchestra (Oct 22).

“Anna Clyne is someone I look to for great music. It's always emotional and driven by her heart, but skillfully composed.” —Marin Alsop

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications