• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

Elena Kats-Chernin is one of Australia's leading composers * Trained in Moscow, Australia, and Germany, her distinctive idiom reflects her unique personal history * Music often combines chiseled rhythmic pulsation with a bittersweet melodic/harmonic language * Diverse output includes operas, orchestral works, chamber and solo pieces, plus music for dance, film, and theater * Interpreters include Ensemble Modern, Bang on a Can All-Stars, and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Works by Elena Kats-Chernin include:
Clocks (1993) for ensemble and tape
Book of Rags (1995–99) for piano
Wild Swans (2002) Ballet, with Eliza Aria and Wild Swans Suite
Orpheus / Odysseus / Poppea (2012) modern adaptation of Monteverdi's operas

Looking Ahead: world premiere of Inner Angels with the Melbourne Youth Orchestra (26 June) and of Momentum with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra (6 Oct)

"Her status as one of this country’s most prolific and consistently innovative composers remains unchallenged… [She] appears to achieve the impossible, straddling the two seemingly irreconcilable camps of intellectualism and accessibility." - Sydney Morning Herald

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications